My three children still cherish their time at primary school

David Brunwin

Chair of Governors

School governors (the governing body) are a team of people who work closely with the Headteacher to make key decisions vital to the successful running of the school. Governors appoint the Headteacher and make decisions that directly affect the education and well-being of the children.

School governors are people who wish to make a positive contribution to children’s education. No special qualifications are required, but enthusiasm, commitment and an interest in education are important qualities to bring to a governor's post. It is a serious commitment, but an incredibly rewarding one. The term of office is four years. School governors are responsible and accountable for all major decisions about the school and its future.

The Head is accountable to the governors for the management of the school and regularly gives reports to keep the governors informed of progress. They set strategic direction, objectives, targets and policies for the school; approve the school budget; review progress against budget, plans and targets to ensure accountability; they provide support, challenge and evaluation to the Head Teacher.

At St Thomas More, the governing body is divided into committees – Finance and General Purposes,
Pupil Related, Personnel and Pay. Governors also monitor a subject area within the school, e.g. literacy, numeracy, art, etc., and visit the school to see the work in progress. A report is written for each of these visits and circulated for the other governors to read.